Music · Theological Thoughts

A Little Drummer Boy’s Heart

Today we take a break from our feature of Jason Gray’s Christmas album to bring you The Little Drummer Boy, because it spoke to me this week after my last post about giving all of my heart.

 

 

The Little Drummer Boy

Come they told me, pa rum pum pum pum
A new born King to see, pa rum pum pum pum
Our finest gifts we bring, pa rum pum pum pum
To lay before the King, pa rum pum pum pum,
rum pum pum pum, rum pum pum pum”

 

The joy and excitement of the other Shepherds overflows into my heart and I awake from my slumber, pick up my drum and joyously follow them into Bethlehem, listening to their chatter. There were angels! We are to honor the baby, Jesus, when we find Him.

 

“So to honor Him, pa rum pum pum pum,
When we come”

 

Honor Him. I am only a child, how will I honor a King? I am a poor Shepherd’s son, a little drum player.

 

“Little Baby, pa rum pum pum pum
I am a poor boy too, pa rum pum pum pum
I have no gift to bring, pa rum pum pum pum
That’s fit to give the King, pa rum pum pum pum,
rum pum pum pum, rum pum pum pum”

 

Discouraged, I almost turn and go back to the fields, what could I possibly bring to honor a King? Is there anything of value that I possess, that He would long to have? What do I have that is a worthy gift for a King?

 

“Shall I play for you, pa rum pum pum pum,
On my drum?”

 

The only thing that I possess is my drum. I play for the Shepherds, and for the townsfolk.

 

Could I bring my drum as a gift? Babies cannot play drums, but I could play it for Him. Music could be my gift.

 

Slowly, shyly, I tiptoe into the stable and ask if I may play for the King.

 

“Mary nodded, pa rum pum pum pum
The ox and lamb kept time, pa rum pum pum pum
I played my drum for Him, pa rum pum pum pum
I played my best for Him, pa rum pum pum pum,
rum pum pum pum, rum pum pum pum”

 

The song begins. I play what we heard the angels sing in the field, “Glory to God and Peace on Earth, good will toward men”.

 

I play what the angels told us is glorious voices, “Your Savior is born. He is Christ the Lord”!

 

My heart overflows as I pour out before the King the only thing that I possess. I play my best for Him, the King, to honor Him as is fitting.

 

“Then He smiled at me, pa rum pum pum pum
Me and my drum”

 

And He smiled at me. He smiled at me! The King! Smiled at ME! He liked my gift. My little song; the only thing of value I possess: my heart.

 

 

Leave a Reply

