Encouragement · Music · Theological Thoughts

Breathe

The past two weeks have been stressful. Here’s a list of all the stressful things that have happened over the past two weeks (in chronological order, not order of impact)

 

Main sewer line in basement clogged and flooded

Warranty didn’t cover it

Hubby’s Grandpa passed

Hubby’s car broke down

Hubby’s car had more things wrong with it than first thought

Hubby accidentally murdered my car

We’re too young to rent a car

Grampa’s funeral

Tiny very painfully pushed two teeth through the gums

The car we wanted sold before we could go look at it

I’ve been without a car for a week now

 

To say the least, it’s been a hard couple of weeks. Stressful and emotionally charged. Trying to navigate these weeks has left me gasping for air, feeling smothered and very depressed. How am I supposed to handle all these things?! Finances. Death. Baby teeth. No car. I’m exhausted and run down. And so I skipped church Sunday because I didn’t have to be there. And my week suffered from it. Ever been run down and not sought relief at the feet of Jesus? It just gets worse. Then Tuesday I ran into the song “Breathe” by Jonny Diaz. Its lyrics start like this:

 

Alarm clock screaming bare feet hit the floor
It’s off to the races everybody out the door
I’m feeling like I’m falling behind. . .

Ninety miles an hour going fast as I can
Trying to push a little harder trying to get the upper hand
So much to do in so little time. . .
It’s ready, set, go it’s another wild day. . .

 

It was like my life. In a song. And then the chorus, like a breath of fresh air on the mountain of my worries:

 

Breathe

 Just breathe.

Come and rest at My feet

And be

Just be.

Chaos calls, but all you really need

Is to just breathe.

 

But it’s so hard to breathe. Because this is how I feel, day after day after day

 

Third cup of joe just to get me through the day
Want to make the most of time but I feel it slip away
I wonder if there’s something more to this crazy life

I’m busy, busy, busy, and it’s no surprise to see
That I only have time for me, me, me
There’s gotta be something more to this crazy life
I’m hanging on tight to another wild day. . .

 

I have too many things to do to breathe. There’s no time. I’m too stressed. I’m too tired. There are finances to figure out, babies to comfort, cars to research, extended family to see. . . I feel like Martha; I have no time to sit at the feet of Jesus. I have no time for anything!

 

 

Breathe

 Just breathe.

Come and rest, at My feet

And be

Just be.

Chaos calls, but all you really need
Is to just breathe.

 

 

So I breathe, just a little bit, just to see how it feels

 

 

Chaos calls but all you really need

Is to take it in, fill your lungs
The peace of God that overcomes

Let your weary spirit rest
Lay down what’s good and find what’s best

 

 

 

 

Just, breathe.

 

 

Do not be anxious about anything. Instead, in every situation, through prayer and petition with thanksgiving, tell your requests to God. And the peace of God that surpasses all understanding will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.

One thought on “Breathe

Leave a Reply

